Delicious Oatmeal Peanut Butter Banana Cookies!

This is the second time I’ve made these healthy 100 calorie cookies this month! I found this recipe from another blog, theskinnyfork.com and boy are they ever good! As a graduated pastry student, I couldn’t resist making them myself.

Image

Often when the word “healthy” is in the title of a food item, I imagine it to taste bland and have the consistency of sawdust. Not these! If you like chocolate chip banana bread, you will love these. These cookies are really simple to make and there are no eggs, flour or oil in this recipe. They are naturally sweetened with bananas, apple sauce and of course the chocolate chips. The original recipe from The Skinny Fork yielded 18 cookies. I increased the recipe to make roughly 27 because I love to give away goodies to friends and family.. as well as have extra for myself!

The Recipe:

1/2cup Natural Peanut Butter
1cup Unsweetened Apple Sauce
3 Mashed Bananas
1.5 teaspoon Vanilla
3/4teaspoon Salt
3/4teaspoon Cinnamon
Dash of Cloves and Nutmeg
2 1/4cups Oats
1/4cup +2tablespoons Chopped Nuts
1/4cup +2tablespoons Chocolate Chips
1/4cup + 2tablespoons Unsweetened Coconut

Set your oven at 350 degrees and prepare two baking sheets with parchment paper or spray with baking spray.
In a large bowl, mix peanut butter, apple sauce, bananas, vanilla and spices together until well combined. Then add in your oats, nuts, chocolate chips and coconut. Spoon each cookie onto the tray well spaced from one another (1 inch)
Each portion should be about two tablespoons. Bake for 20-30 minutes and let cool.

Image

As for the nuts, the type you choose is optional. The first time I made them, I used peanuts. This time I used a combination of peanuts and almonds mainly because almonds are healthier than peanuts and are considered a “super food”. I also threw in a few extra chocolate chips but that’s not necessary if you’re really watching your weight.

These cookies are a great healthy alternative to your regular chocolate oatmeal cookies and will successfully curb your cravings without the added guilt! They are approximately 100 calories per cookie and are very satisfying. I personally like to store mine in the freezer and only take a couple out at a time. This helps me from binging on the entire batch!
I took these to a Canada Day party and no one could tell they were “healthy” cookies. That is how good they are!
I hope you enjoy these as much as I have!

One thought on “Delicious Oatmeal Peanut Butter Banana Cookies!

Leave a Reply

