Berry & Oat Muffin in a Mug

Image

 

I originally found this recipe on Pinterest several months ago. I finally got around to trying it out about two weeks ago and it was pretty cool! Today is the second time I’ve made it and I tweaked it a little bit from the original recipe. The original recipe calls for 1 egg, 1/4 cup instant oats, handful of blueberries, sprinkle of brown sugar/stevia and a tablespoon of soy or almond milk.
You basically just mix everything together in a mug and microwave it for a minute or two.
I didn’t have almond or soy milk so I used a tablespoon of plain Greek yogurt instead. I found the original recipe a bit bland the first time I made it so today I added a teaspoon of cinnamon in the mixture as well as sprinkled on top before baking. Instead of only using blueberries, I added in some local strawberries and I also put a teaspoon of flax seeds in the mixture.

My Revised Recipe:

1 Egg
1/4c Instant Oats
Handful of blueberries & strawberries (cranberries or raspberries would be nice too)
1tbsp Greek Yogurt (or soy/almond milk)
1tsp Flax Seeds
1tsp Cinnamon
1tsp Brown Sugar or Stevia

Mix this in a small bowl before pouring into a slightly greased mug and microwave.
Depending on the mug you use, you may have to adjust the time it takes to bake. The first time I made this, I used a mug that was rather thin and it took 3 minutes in the microwave. Today I used a thicker mug and it baked within 2 minutes. Start off with one minute and increase baking time 30 seconds at a time. When the top is no longer wet and gives a bit of resistance when you touch it, it is finished! Be careful when removing the muffin from the mug because it can be really hot, especially the berries.

Total preparation time for this is about 5 minutes! Super easy to do in the morning even if you are in a rush. It’s a well balanced item with grains, fruit and protein. You don’t even need to add butter because it is so moist to begin with.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

